Widespread and Diverse Voices Urge Transparency at the FCC

Public Comment Essential on Intercarrier Compensation and USF Proposals

 

Washington, DC, October 28, 2008– A broad group of consumer advocates, state regulators, rural carriers, midsize carriers, wireless companies and competitive providers joined together today to urge the FCC to put out for public comment any proposed rules revising its intercarrier compensation and USF regimes.

The participants indicated that, while they may disagree with one another about how best to reform the nation’s intercarrier compensation and USF systems, they are united in their belief that adopting any comprehensive proposed rule changes on November 4 without public comment on the specifics could be potentially devastating to the nation’s economy and its consumers. 

The groups banding together at a press conference to send this critical message to the FCC included the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates (NASUCA), Independent Telephone and Telecommunications Alliance (ITTA), COMPTEL, National Telecommunications Cooperative Association (NTCA), Rural Cellular Association (RCA), USA Coalition, and Broadband Service Providers Association (BSPA). 

Additionally, the following associations, coalitions, and companies collectively urge the FCC to adopt comprehensive changes to its intercarrier compensation and USF regimes only after the proper level of transparency and public input on the specific proposals has occurred: 

ASSOCIATIONS
National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, www.naruc.org
National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates, www.nasuca.org
Broadband Service Providers Association
COMPTEL, www.comptel.org
Independent Telephone and Telecommunications Alliance, www.itta.us
National Telecommunications Cooperative Association, www.ntca.org
Rural Cellular Association, www.rca-usa.org
USA Coalition
 

INDIVIDUAL COMPANIES
360networks ( USA) Inc., www.360.net
Alpheus Communications, L.P., www.alpheuscommunications.com
Broadview Networks Inc., www.broadviewnet.com
Canby Telcom, www.canbytel.com
Cavalier Telephone, LLC, www.cavtel.com
Cellular South, www.cellularsouth.com
Corr Wireless, www.corrwireless.com
Covad Communications Company, www.covad.com
Dakota Central Telecommunications Cooperative, www.daktel.com
DeltaCom, Inc., www.deltacom.com
Farmers Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc., www.farmerstel.com
Granite Telecommunications, LLC., www.granitenet.com
Great Plains Communications, Inc., www.gpcom.com
Hardy Telecommunications, Inc., www.hardynet.com
Hypercube, LLC, www.hypercube-llc.com
Integra Telecom, Inc., www.integratelecom.com
MTPCS, LLC d/b/a Cellular One, www.cellularnation.com
NuVox, www.nuvox.com
One Communications Corp., www.onecommunications.com
PAETEC, www.paetec.com
Pigeon Telephone Inc., www.pigeontelephone.com
RCN Telecom Services, Inc., www.rcn.com
Southern Communications Services, Inc., d/b/a SouthernLINC Wireless, www.southernlinc.com
Texas 10, LLC
Thumb Cellular, www.thumbcellular.com
tw telecom inc., www.twtelecom.com
U.S. TelePacific Corp d/b/a TelePacific Communications, www.telepacific.com
US Cellular, www.uscellular.com
XO Communications, LLC, www.xo.com
YourTel America, Inc., www.yourtelamerica.com

###
The National Telecommunications Cooperative Association is the premier association representing more than 580 locally owned and controlled telecommunications cooperatives and commercial companies throughout rural and small-town America. NTCA provides its members with legislative, regulatory and industry representation; meetings; publications and educational programs; and an array of employee benefit programs. Visit us at www.ntca.org.