Promoting Rural Broadband Networks and Applications

Smart Rural CommunitiesSM  Are Building a Brighter Future for Small Town America

From the Pacific Ocean to Georgia’s coastal plains, a nationwide effort is underway to bring high-speed internet to small-town America. Rural broadband providers are taking lead to bring advanced digital infrastructure to the regions and the people they serve. Their goal? To enhance quality of life by creating Smart Rural Communities, which utilize a robust fiber network to jumpstart economic growth and improve access to first-rate education, healthcare, and government services.

Smart Rural Communities Podcast

Listen to stories from rural America and learn how rural broadband providers are making a difference. 


The SRC Grant is an annual opportunity for rural broadband providers to obtain grants to deploy broadband-enabled solutions within their community. Matching-fund  obligations require local communications providers to recruit the participation of other local leaders.


Join the Network

NTCA members that achieve certain network and service standards can apply to become a SRC Smart Rural Community Provider™ and join the national network of innovative rural broadband providers building smarter rural communities. 


National Recognition

The annual SRC Showcase Awards are presented to NTCA members to recognize their extraordinary achievements in promoting rural broadband networks and applications in rural communities. Awards are based on the demonstrated use of these technologies to support innovative economic development, education, health care, and other vital public functions.


Congratulations to Our Smart Rural Community ProvidersSM

  • Albany Mutual Telephone Association (Albany, MN)
  • Alpine Communications, (Elkader, IA)
  • Atlantic Telephone Membership Corporation (ATMC; Shallotte, NC)
  • BEK Communications Cooperative (Steele, ND)
  • Ben Lomand Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (McMinnville, TN)
  • Big Bend Telephone Co., Inc. (Alpine, TX)
  • Bloomer Telephone Company (Bloomer, WI)
  • Bruce Telephone Company, Inc. (Bay Springs, MS)
  • Buckland Telephone Company (Buckland, OH)
  • Butler Bremer Communications (Plainfield, IA)
  • Cascade Communications Company (Cascade, IA)
  • Central Texas Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (Goldthwaite, TX)
  • Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation (Macon, MO)
  • Citizens Mutual Telephone Cooperative (Bloomfield, IA)
  • Citizens Telephone Cooperative (New Auburn, WI)
  • Clear Lake Independent Telephone Company (Clear Lake, IA)
  • Cochrane Cooperative Telephone Company (Cochrane, WI)
  • Coleman County Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (Santa Anna, TX)
  • Comcell I Community Telephone (Windthrost, TX)
  • Consolidated Telcom (Dickinson, ND)
  • Consolidated Telephone Company (Brainerd, MN)
  • Cunningham Telephone Company, Inc. (Glen Elder, KS)
  • Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (Ellendale, ND)
  • Direct Link (Canby, OR)
  • DTC Communications (Alexandria, TN)
  • Dumont Telephone Company (Dumont, IA)
  • Emily Cooperative Telephone Co. (Emily, MN)
  • Enhanced Telecommunications Corporation (Sunman, IN)
  • Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (Bellingham, MN)
  • Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (Fruitland, ID)
  • Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (Stanton, IA)
  • Farmers Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (Rainsville, AL)
  • Federated Telephone Cooperative (Chokio, MN)
  • Golden Belt Telephone Association, Inc. (Rush Center, KS)
  • Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (Wall, SD)
  • Green Hills Communications (Breckenridge, MO)
  • GRM Networks (Princeton, MO)
  • Home Telephone Co. (St. Jacob, IL)
  • Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (Conway, SC)
  • Kalona Cooperative Technology Co. (Kalona, IA)
  • KanOkla Networks (Caldwell, KS)
  • Liberty Communications (West Liberty, IA)
  • Livingston Telephone Company (Bedford, NH)
  • Lynxx Networks (Camp Douglas, WI)
  • Madison Telephone Co. (Staunton, IL)
  • Marne & Elk Horn Telephone Co. (Elk Horn, IA)
  • Mountain Rural Telephone Co-op (West Liberty, KY)
  • North Dakota Telephone Company (Devils Lake, ND)
  • Panhandle Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (Guymon, OK)
  • Panora Communications Cooperative (Panora, IA)
  • Paul Bunyan Communications (Bemidji, MN)
  • Pembroke Telephone Company (Pembroke, GA)
  • Peoples Rural Telephone Cooperative (McKee, KY)
  • Polar Communications (Park River, ND)
  • Premier Communications (Sioux Center, IA)
  • Quadro Communications Co-Operative, Inc (Kirkton, ON)
  • Rainbow Telecommunications Association, Inc. (Everest, KS)
  • The Rye Telephone Company (Bedford, NH)
  • Shawnee Communications (Equality, IL)
  • Shenandoah Telecommunications Company (Edinburg, VA)
  • SkyLine Membership Corporation (West Jefferson, NC) 
  • South Central Telephone Association Inc. (Medicine Lodge, KS)
  • Star Telephone Membership Corporation (Clinton, NC)
  • Surry Telephone Membership Corporation (Dobson, NC)
  • Sycamore Telephone Company (Sycamore, OH)
  • Taylor Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (Merkel, TX)
  • Telephone Electronics Corporation (Jackson, MS)
  • Telephone Service Company (Willmar, MN)
  • Thacker-Grigsby Telephone Company, Inc. (Hindman, KY)
  • ToledoTel (Toledo, WA)
  • Tri-County Communications Cooperative (Strum, WI)
  • Tri-County Telephone Membership Corporation (Belhaven, NC)
  • United Communications (Langdon, ND)
  • UNITEL, Inc. (Unity, ME)
  • Webster-Calhoun Cooperative Telephone Association (Gowrie, IA)
  • West Kentucky and Tennessee Telecommunications Cooperative (Mayfield, KY)
  • West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Hazen, ND)
  • West Wisconsin Telecom Cooperative, Inc. (Downsville, WI)
  • Wiatel-Western Iowa Telecom (Lawton, IA)
  • Wilkes Communications (Wilkesboro, NC)
  • Yucca Telecom (Portales, NM)


Advisory Council

The Smart Rural Communities Advisory Council (SRCAC) supports the SRC initiative by providing the technical and business expertise essential to the implementation of the program. The SRCAC includes representatives from the communications, power utility, education, agriculture, public safety, health care and rural economic development industries. Certain NTCA member committees, as well as one NTCA staff liaison, are also represented on the council.


Current Members
  • NTCA Associate Member Advisory Council (Chair)
  • NTCA Innovation and Business Opportunity (Chairs)
  • NTCA Marketing Committee (Chair)
  • Mapcom Systems
  • National Information Solutions Cooperative
  • National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative
  • Plus One Strategic Communications
  • Citizens Connected (SRC Alumni Representative, 2016)
  • Consolidated Telecommunications Co. (SRC Alumni Representative, 2014)
  • Madison Telephone Co. (SRC Alumni Representative, 2015)
  • Peoples Rural Telephone Cooperative (SRC Alumni Representative, 2014)


Thank You to Our Sponsors




Contact Us
Sponsor SRC Initiatives