

February 4, 2014

Ex Parte Notice

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

## **RE:** WC Docket No. 10-90, Connect America Fund; Technology Transitions, GN Docket No. 13-5

Dear Ms. Dortch:

On February 2, 2014, the NTCA Board of Directors and two NTCA staff members (all meeting attendees listed below), met with Carol Mattey, Deputy Chief of the Wireline Competition Bureau. Ms. Mattey provided the NTCA Board with a brief summary of the recently released Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on the ongoing transition to IP-based services and an overview of other universal service-related matters. In the question and answer session that followed Ms. Mattey's presentation, individual board members urged the Commission to consider reducing the regulatory burden imposed on small carriers operating in rural areas and to facilitate the recovery of past investments based upon use by other parties of small carrier networks.

Pursuant to Section 1.1206 of the Commission's rules, a copy of this letter is being filed via ECFS.

Sincerely, /s/ *Michael R. Romano* Michael R. Romano Senior Vice President – Policy

cc: Carol Mattey

## **Meeting Attendees:**

Terry Force President Blue Valley Tele-Communications, Inc.

Donald D. Miller Chief Executive Officer Northwest Telephone Cooperative Association

Ronald Laudner, Jr. President/Chief Executive Officer Farmers Mutual Telephone dba Omnitel Communications

James J. Kail President/Chief Executive Officer Laurel Highland Telephone Co.

Allen Russ Chief Executive Officer/General Manager ATMC

R. Craig Smith President/General Manager MGW Telephone Co.

Larry Windham Director Progressive Rural Telephone Coop.

J. Frederick Johnson EVP and General Manager Farmers Telecommunications Coop.

James M. Dauby Chief Executive Officer/President PSC Douglas Allen Boone Chief Executive Officer Premier Communications

Robert DeBroux Director, Federal Affairs & Public Policy TDS Telecom

Paul Schuetzler General Manager Consolidated Telcom

Loren Duerksen Director of Operations Diller Telephone Company

Tom Young Manager Kingdom Telephone Co.

Mitchell A. Moore President Clear Creek Mutual Telephone Company

Godfrey Enjady President/General Manager Mescalero Apache Telecom

Sandy Vandevender Chief Executive Officer Five Area Telephone Cooperative, Inc.

Don Richards Richards, Elder & Green, LLP

Shirley Bloomfield Chief Executive Officer NTCA

Jennifer Sullivan NTCA