

February 4, 2014

Ex Parte Notice

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

RE: WC Docket No. 10-90, Connect America Fund; Technology Transitions, GN Docket No. 13-5

Dear Ms. Dortch:

On February 2, 2014, the undersigned, on behalf of NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association ("NTCA"), together with members of NTCA's Industry and Regulatory Policy and Competitive and Advanced Services Committees and several NTCA staff members (all meeting attendees listed below), met with Carol Mattey, Deputy Chief of the Wireline Competition Bureau. Ms. Mattey provided the committees with a brief summary of the recently released Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking regarding the ongoing transition to IP-based services and an overview of other universal service-related matters.

In the question and answer session that followed Ms. Mattey's presentation, individual committee members asked the following questions: (1) how might reforms to the High-Cost Program for rural rate-of-return carriers enable carriers to recover costs incurred for past investments under then-current rules?; (2) would the Commission consider eliminating or scaling back the Section 54.313 five-year network deployment plan requirement?; and (3) what steps might be needed to ensure the availability of high-cost support for networks where certain consumers cease to take voice telephony services offered to them and instead only procure broadband Internet access services?

Pursuant to Section 1.1206 of the Commission's rules, a copy of this letter is being filed via ECFS.

Sincerely, /s/ *Michael R. Romano* Michael R. Romano Senior Vice President – Policy

cc: Carol Mattey

Meeting Attendees:

Scott Hiatt, CPA

CFO

NineStar Connect

Dennis L. Bachman General Manager

Citizens Telephone Cooperative

Don Jackson

Manager, Regulatory & Legislative Tri-County Telephone Association

Brock Johansen

Chief Executive Officer/General Manager

Emery Telcom

Janet M. Bathurst General Manager

S & A Telephone Company

Greg Berberich

Chief Executive Officer

Matanuska Telephone Association

Kevin Kelly

Regulatory Director

TCA

Ryan Boone

Regulatory Manager

Northern Iowa Telephone

Denny Law

General Manager/CEO

Golden West Telecommunications

Cooperative

Janet S. Britton

Director of Legal & Regulatory Affairs

East Ascension

David Clark

Regulatory Manager

Sebastian

Steve D. Meltzer Senior Vice President

JSI

Richard Coit

Executive Director

South Dakota Telecommunications

Association

Roger Nishi

V.P. Industry Relations

Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom

Tom Conry

General Manager

Farmers Mutual Cooperative

Telephone Company

H. Keith Oliver

Senior VP Corporate Operations Home Telephone Company

Paul Cooper

President

Fred Williamson & Associates

Eric Cramer

CEO

Wilkes Telephone Membership Corporation

Jason Dandridge

CEO

Palmetto Rural Telephone

Cooperative

Renee Reeter

Chief Financial Officer

Green Hills Telephone Corporation

Jeff Smith

President and Chief Executive Officer

GVNW Consulting

William A. Squires Chief Executive Officer Blackfoot Telephone Cooperative

Thomas R. Farm CPA Communications Consulting Principal Olsen Thielen & Co., Ltd

David A. Fox Vice President & General Manager Clinton County Telephone Company

Larry Thompson, P.E. Chief Executive Officer Vantage Point Solutions

Jim Frame VP Operations National Exchange Carrier Association NECA

Edwin Tisdale Senior Vice President Granby Telephone, LLC

Rhonda Goddard Chief Operating Officer Nex-Tech

Bruce H. Todd Chief Executive Officer/General Manager STRATA Networks

Kelley Wells Regulatory Affairs Manager Panhandle Telephone Cooperative

Emory Graffis General Manager Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company

Kevin Hess Sr. Vice President - Gov't & Regulatory TDS Telecom Jonathan West General Manager/CEO Twin Lakes Telephone Cooperative Corporation

Candace Wright
Chief Financial Officer
Blue Valley Tele-Communications

Mark D. Benton General Manager Midstate Communications

Mike Kilgore Chief Executive Officer/General Manager Nemont Telephone Cooperative

Daryl Carlson EVP/General Manager Webster-Calhoun Cooperative Telephone Association

Barb Main General Manager Pigeon Telephone Company

Jeff Goodrich Chief Operations Officer STRATA Networks

Laura Graff Regulatory Manager Atlantic Telephone Membership Corporation (ATMC)

Lance Miller
President and General Manager
McClure Telephone Company

Ryan Johnson
Sales & Marketing Director
Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation

Scott Randall
Director of Regulatory Affairs
Ironton Telephone Company

Robin Tuttle

Herman & Whiteaker, LLC

Greg Whiteaker

Herman & Whiteaker, LLC

Jo Shotwell

CHR Solutions, Inc.

Stuart Polikoff

CHR Solutions, Inc.

Bob Gnapp

NECA

Geoff Feiss

Montana Telecom Association

Wendy Mons

TCA

Kathy Billnger

Peoples Telecommunications

Jerry Burmeister

Interstate Telcom Consulting, Inc

Patrick Holton

Olsen Theilen & Co. Ltd

Keith Galitz

CHR Solutions

John Prendergast

Blooston

Steve Appelo

Wahkakum West

Bob Gannon

Westel Systems

Ron McHue

Silver Star Communications

Brian Thompson

Consolidated Companies, Inc.

Corey Gaskill

Farmers Mutual Telephone Cooperative

Telephone Company

Michael Stidham

Peoples Rural Telephone Cooperative

Darnel Dennis

XIT Rural Telephone Corp

Jason Hendricks

Range Telcos

Tim Ekluun

Consortia Consulting

Dan Caldwell

Consortia Consulting

Randy Yeakel

Communications 1

Jeff Naig

Kiesling Associates

Keith Larson

Dakota Central Telecommunicaitons

Jeff Almen

NISC

Larry Dale

ITCS

Jeff Wilson

West Carolina Telephone

Brian Boisvert

Wilson Telephone

Bob DeBroux

TDS Telecom

Scott Randall Tom Wacker Ironton Telephone NTCA

Kenneth Johnson Lief Oveson Bennet & Bennet, PLLC NTCA

Gail Raimey Meaghan Foster

Triangle Telephone NTCA

Rick Stevens Jessica Golden

Triangle Telephone NTCA

Linda Burton Tammi Logan

Sierra Telephone NTCA

Brian Ford Hillary Crowder

NTCA NTCA