

September 22, 2015

Ex Parte Notice

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

RE: Connect America Fund, WC Docket No. 10-90

Dear Ms. Dortch:

On Sunday, September 20, 2015, Commissioner Michael O'Rielly and his legal advisor, Amy Bender, participated in a meeting of policy committees of NTCA–The Rural Broadband Association ("NTCA") and in a separate meeting with other NTCA members. In the course of presentations and discussions during those meetings (the attendees of which are listed in the attachment hereto), certain participants urged Commissioner O'Rielly and the Federal Communications Commission (the "Commission") to consider: (1) the effects of regulatory uncertainty and complexity of support mechanisms on rural broadband investment; (2) the need for straightforward solutions to update the existing mechanisms to better support broadband; (3) the effect of universal service budgets on delivering reasonably comparable services at reasonable comparable rates in undertaking any such reforms; and (4) the accuracy and transparency of data that affect support calculations.

Thank you for your attention to this correspondence. Pursuant to Section 1.1206 of the Commission's rules, a copy of this letter is being filed via ECFS.

Sincerely,

<u>/s/ Michael R. Romano</u> Michael R. Romano Senior Vice President – Policy

Attachment

cc: Commissioner Michael O'Rielly Amy Bender

POLICY COMMITTEES MEETING

Valerie Ancrum (Palmetto) Dennis Bachman (Citizens) Ryan Boone (Premier) David Clark (Kerman) Rich Coit (SDTA) Tom Conry (Farmers) Eric Cramer (Wilkes) Bob DeBroux (TDS) Dave Duncan (ICA) Dave Fox (Westphalia) Rhonda Goddard (Nex-Tech) Scott Hiatt (NineStar) Don Jackson (TriCounty) Denny Law (Golden West) Pat McElroy (Northeast Nebraska) Don Miller (Northwest) Rusty Moore (Big Bend) Roger Nishi (Waitsfield) Renee Reeter (Kingdom) Ed Tisdale (Granby) Bruce Todd (Strata) Kelly Wells (Panhandle) Jonathan West (Twin Lakes) Candace Wright (Blue Valley) Jerry Burmeister (Interstate) Dan Caldwell (Consortia) Tom Burns (Olson Thielen) Jim Frame (NECA) Kevin Kelly (TCA) Steve Meltzer (JSI) Jeff Smith (GVNW) Larry Thompson (Vantage Point) Vince Weimer (Alexicon) Carol Brennan (NECA) Bob Gnapp (NECA) Tony Veach (Bennet & Bennet) Kent Larsen (Moss Adams) Wendy Moris (TCA) Don Richards (Richards, Elder & Green, PLLC) Raymond Henagan (Rock Port Tel) Andrew Brown (ANPI) Jeff Wilson (WC Tel) Keith Larson (Dakota Central)

Todd Heneckie (NISC) Mark Bahnson (Bloomingdale) Michael Goffy (Shawnee) Matt Johnson (Shawnee) Brian Thompson (Consolidated Companies) Clint Carter (NCTC) Philip Macres (Klein Law PLLC) Shawn Hanson (PTCI) Ralph Cunha (Endeavor Communications) Leo Staurulakis (JSI) Chris Nelson (SD Publ. Utils. Commission) Trent Boaldin (Epic Touch) Bob Dunn (ABB-Tel Alaska) Christine O'Connor (Alaska Tel. Assn.) Tabitha Gregory (Copper Valley Telecom) Trey Judy (Hargray) Jeremy Becker (SRT) Mark Benton (Midstate) Daryl Carlson (Webster-Calhoun) Allen Gillum (East Kentucky Network) Jeff Goodrich (Strata Networks) Laura Graff (ATMC) Kevin Hess (TDS) Brock Johansen (Emery) Ryan Johnson (Chariton Valley) Mike Kilgore (Nemont) Ray Meyer (Grand River Mutual) Jennifer Otwell (Totelcom) David Cohen (GVNW) Shirley Bloomfield (NTCA) Mike Romano (NTCA) Laurie Simpson (NTCA) Laura Withers (NTCA) Hillary Crowder (NTCA) Steve Pastorkovich (NTCA)

SECOND MEETING

Brian Boisvert (Wilson) Greg Hale (Logan) Mark Bahnson (Bloomingdale) Ron Hinds (GRM) Michael Burrow (NineStar) Kevin Larson (Consolidated) Kim Harber (Madison) John Hoffman (Gervais) Dustin Durden (Pineland) Shirley Bloomfield (NTCA) Don Richards (NTCA) Mike Romano (NTCA)